Boys & Girls Club Blog

Boys & Girls Club of Oshkosh Member, Savana Pfeffer, is Named Youth of the Year

November 7, 2022

The Boys & Girls Club of Oshkosh is pleased to announce their 2023 Youth of the Year representative – Savana Pfeffer. The Club announced Savana as this year’s local winner at the Youth of the Year Dinner, sponsored by Amcor, on October 27.

Each year a local Youth of the Year committee interviews several high school students at the Club. Savana competed against four other Boys & Girls Club of Oshkosh teens: Mercy Ajao, Gwendolyn Koepke, Ethan Moench, and Madison Sonier. They were judged on their service to their Club, community, and family, academic success, strong moral character, life goals, and poise and public speaking ability. As the Oshkosh Club’s 2023 Youth of the Year, Savana receives $10,000 from the Charles. F. Hyde Scholarship Endowment towards higher education. In March, Youth of the Year winners from local Boys & Girls Clubs across the state will travel to Madison to compete for the state title and additional scholarships.

Savana has been a Club member since she was in Pre-Kindergarten. She is currently a senior at Oshkosh North High School and President of our Keystone Leadership Club. She enjoys giving back to the community and being a role model for younger youth at the Club. Savana aspires to be a therapist in the future.

Savana says, “My Club has impacted my life tremendously and has shown me how being a leader can impact other people. I fell in love with Keystone Club, which has taught me to be a better person for our planet as well. By going to the Club for help with my school work I got my grades up. I’m very lucky to have such an amazing group of staff members at my Club to help me get to where I am today.”

“We are very proud of Savana, “added CEO, Tracy Ogden. “She is a bright young leader who makes good choices for herself and is dedicated to doing good for her community. We’re excited about her future and to see her now compete for the state title in just a few months.”

In addition to announcing Savana as Youth of the Year, Club families along with donors, teachers, mentors, and alumni celebrate members ages 5-18 in their accomplishments in the areas of Health & Wellness, Academic Success, and Character & Leadership during their time at the Club. The event, Halloween-themed this year, was a fun evening where Club families got to enjoy dinner together and celebrate their kids.

Thank you to the 2023 Boys & Girls Club of Oshkosh Youth of the Year Judging Committee:

Rachel Hansen (Oshkosh Corporation), Heather Holly-Pinnow (Pinnow Sheet Metal, Inc.), Aaron Johnson (Craft Coating), Kevin Ralofsky (Verve, a Credit Union), Chief Dean Smith (Oshkosh Police Department), Jeff Trembly (Oshkosh Coil Spring), Peg Wachtel (Charles Hyde Endowment), and Amy Weeks (Amcor).

A big thank you to our Presenting Sponsor: Amcor, Achievement Sponsor: MARCO Promos, Dinner Sponsor: TDS, Dessert Sponsor: Pinnow Sheet Metal, Red Carpet sponsor: Shea Electric & Communications, LLC, Recognition Sponsor: 4imprint, Lead, Succeed, Inspire Sponsors: Health Care Credit Union, Kwik Trip, and Rhyme, Great Futures Sponsors: Block Iron, OEC Graphics, ThedaCare, and Peg Wachtel, Sponsors of Club Members: Bright Orthodontics, Lorie Bunke, HomeLight, EAA, and Fox Valley Metrology for making the evening possible.

Savana accepted the Youth of the Year title on stage at the Youth of the Year Dinner.

Savana poses with Youth of the Year candidates Gwendolyn Koepke, Madison Sonier, and Ethan Moench after her win.

All four candidates on competition night (Left to right): Ethan Moench, Savana Pfeffer, Mercy Ajao, Madison Sonier, and Gwendolyn Koepke.